The Lord of the Rings – The Fellowship of the Ring (Book Review)

Image

 

 

Wow, I finally finished reading LOTR – Fellowship of the Ring, after almost 2 years of reading. 

I know, I know, not really well from my part but I have to explain. Two years ago I saw this book in my favourite bookshop and I just had to buy it, because I am a HUGE fan of the movies and I wanted to know how the books were. So I bought it in the middle of my exams. And that was mistake number one. During already a difficult time where I have to study numerous books and other articles, all of which are quite difficult, I picked up a quite difficult book to read. I quickly left it on my nightstand because I didn’t see the end of it and I needed some lighter reading.

And then I just forgot I had it. Books kept coming in my room and ended on the to-read pile, and LOTR kept creeping to the end of the line.

And almost two years later, I picked it up again, having finished my exams and finally earned my master-degree. I started again with a renewed attention for this amazing book. 

Because it is just an amazing book. The characters are beautifully described. You just feel an endless joy when reading the adventures of the nice little hobbits (my favourite is Pippin, he’s just so cute), you admire Aragorn who just takes over Gandalf’s task after his last deed to save the fellowship and you can’t stop rooting for the starting friendship between Gimli and Legolas.

And then the scenery. I always have the following problem with fantasy books: some times I see different books and different characters in the same scenery, because everything is always happening in the same place. There is always a dark forest where our companions have to adventure, there is always a river which they have to pass and I can go on and on about this. But here it was different. Partly because all these other fantasy books are based on the LOTR-books, partly because he described it differently. I found it easier with this one to see how the forest should be and I could feel what the fellowship of the Ring was feeling on some parts of their journey. I felt dark and scared in the tunnels of Moria, and I felt at peace in the beautiful forests of the elves. 

Needles to say that I will definitely pick up the following books if I can find them in my library. (Yes I live in a city, not that big but big enough to have a big bookstore, but to small because they don’t have any books in English L ).

5 out of 5 stars, definitely and rightly earned!!

 

Leave a Reply

