The Impossible (Movie Review)

Image 

An account of a family caught, with tens of thousands of strangers, in the mayhem of one of the worst natural catastrophes of our time. (imdb)

This movie, oh well this movie. This movie took me through so many emotions. It’s just crazy. It takes you along to the story of a family on holiday, that are caught in the tsunami of 2004. It’s actually an extraordinary story. A family of five lost each other and the entire movie they are searching for each other and hoping that the others are still alive.

From the beginning of the story I was stressing because I knew the tsunami would come. The director decided to give us 10-15 minutes of movie where we meet the characters, with sometimes that type of music who builds the stress of the moment, until of course the water comes. That sequence was beautifully made. You really had the feeling it was real and that you were in the middle of it. I was always fascinated with being under water and I always feel free every time I see underwater shots. But this time I felt claustrophobic and all the shots really captured how they must have felt when the tsunami hit.

Each and every performance of this movie was remarkable and left me crying. Naomi Watts had such a difficult and physical demanding role and her connection with the actor who plays her eldest son (Tom Holland) is remarkable. Also the other boys gave amazing performances and where cute as a button. The entire movie you’re just rooting for them to find each other and to survive this catastrophe.

The only thing that I don’t understand is why the director decided to make his characters white and british, while the real family was Spanish. I can’t quite grab that fact. I really think that the story would be as strong with Spanish actors and characters. I’m sure the director has his reasons.

Another thing that bothered me a little bit, was at the end of the film where Naomi Watt’s character Maria is in surgery. The sequence in the water then, really felt made for me. It was a little bit to much made in special effects. I think the emotion of that moment would have been stronger, if the shots were less treated with special effects.

After throwing away all my tissues I used up watching this movie, I’m definitely falling in love with this story. So 4 out of 5 stars. Definitely earned.

Leave a Reply

