Movie Review – Mommy

by Xavier Dolan

by Xavier Dolan

‘A widowed single mother, raising her violent son alone, finds new hope when a mysterious neighbor inserts herself into their household.’ (IMDb) (by Xavier Dolan, 139 min.)

This movie was amazing! I loved every moment of it. It was a gripping story about a mother who has to learn to live with her son who has a few behavioral problems.

The entire film is just a little jewel. The choice of the chosen aspect-ratio is also really interesting. At first I thought it would bother me, but he played with it along the entire movie and I was just so enthralled with the movie that I didn’t notice it was changing. And it wasn’t changing just to be pretty. It did have a function to the story and that was what I liked the most.

The story makes you think and I was wondering what I would do in such a situation and it is a hard one. You don’t make such a choice lightly. And you never know how you will act until you experience it. It moved me in a way that made me respect the people, the parents, who have to make such decisions and who have to deal with this on a daily basis.

It’s a gripping story, beautifully filmed and definitely worth watching. I’m going to keep a close eye on this filmmaker, because he has a talent for filmmaking and I’m interested to see where he will take us next.

5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

