Movie Review – The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

by Peter Jackson

by Peter Jackson

‘Bilbo and Company are forced to engage in a war against an array of combatants and keep the Lonely Mountain from falling into the hands of a rising darkness.’ (IMDb) (by Peter Jackson, 144 min.)

OMG, the anticipation for this film was so huge for me. After a little bit disappointing second movie, I hoped Peter Jackson would go out with a bang. And man, did he deliver! They still can’t tip to The Lord of the Rings movies, but they took their place in my heart and I’m so happy it ended on this beautiful note.

There are still elements that I just don’t get. The relationship between Kili and Tauriel stays a bit unbelievable in my eyes. I do had to cry at the end. But it keeps on being one of the less interesting part of these movies for me.

For a little part of the film, I also had the feeling the movie was taking a long time to get to the actual story and the fighting. Don’t get me wrong. I love Middle-Earth and the more I get from it, the better. But not when it doesn’t help the story along. It dragged at some points.

For the rest, I do have to say it was a bittersweet ending for me. I’m so glad and sad that it’s over. No more Middle-Earth. No more Hobbit, Elves, Dwarves… I’ll have to binge-watch them really soon.

out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

