Movie Review – Mr. Turner

by Mike Leigh

by Mike Leigh

‘An exploration of the last quarter century of the great, if eccentric, British painter J.M.W. Turner’s life.’ (IMDb) (by Mike Leigh, 150 min.)

I liked this movie quite a bite actually. It wasn’t what I suspected of it at all. I know a little about his life, but this movie showed an entire different side of him, one I knew little about. And I must say I found it really interesting.

Timothy Spall was amazing as the painter. Grumpy, closed-off but generous to the people he likes. You could see the entire psyche of this character through his acting. I totally believed him as this character.

The images of this movie were gorgeous. They used a lot of long shots, brilliantly showing the beauty of the landscapes all around him and the ones he was painting.

This with the acting of Timothy Spall, really made this movie.

out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

