Movie Review – Into the Woods

by Rob Marshall

by Rob Marshall

‘A witch tasks a childless baker and his wife with procuring magical items from classic fairy tales to reverse the curse put on their family tree.’ (IMDb) (by Rob Marshall, 125 min.)

I’m a bit disappointed with this movie. I never watched the musical, but I saw little fragments and I know the story and the songs. So I hoped the movie would be as good as the musical is. But I was wrong.

I don’t know what it is that makes me feel this way about the movie. Meryl Streep is great. I love Anna Kendrick. The actors were all ok. I just think Emily Blunt wasn’t really convincing as the Baker’s Wife, but James Corden was lovely.

The only passage I loved it, was between the two princes (Chris Pine & Billy Magnussen) – called ‘Agony’ I think. That was hilarious and I watched it again and again on youtube. So good.

Just unfortunately that it is the only part of an entire film that I liked.

2,5 out of 5 stars, am not a fan…

Leave a Reply

