Movie Review – Mortdecai

by David Koepp

by David Koepp

‘Juggling angry Russians, the British Mi5, and an international terrorist, debonair art dealer and part time rogue Charlie Mortdecai races to recover a stolen painting rumored to contain a code that leads to lost Nazi gold.’ (IMDb) (by David Koepp, 107 min.)

This was the weirdest film ever. I don’t even know what it was supposed to be. Is it a comedy? Or a spy movie? or something like that? I don’t know.

Johnny Depp wasn’t convincing as Mortdecai, a weird man in love with his mustache. And the entire thing around that and his wife not wanting to kiss him, was just weird. I didn’t really laugh during this film. Gwyneth Paltrow was charming as Mortdecai’s wife… But unfortunately she couldn’t save the disaster that was this film.

It just wasn’t for me, I guess. But I do believe that some people will like this film. I just wasn’t one of them.

out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

