Movie Review – The Conjuring

by James Wan

by James Wan

‘Paranormal investigators Ed and Lorraine Warren work to help a family terrorized by a dark presence in their farmhouse.’ (iMDb) (by James Wan, 112 min.)

I liked this movie a lot. I don’t watch a lot of horror movies. I kind of stay away from them, because I tend to really invest myself in every movie I see and really feel everything the characters go through and what happens in the story. So, normally I stay away because I can’t sleep after I watch one.

But lately, since I started studying film and how to make movies, I learned to watch movies in a different way. I learned to watch horror movies, and to learn how they make them.

But I actually enjoyed this movie quite a lot. I wanted to know how the story would unravel. And the entire time I sat on the edge of my seat. The only thing that bothered me a bit and which I found unfortunate, was the ending. They showed a bit too much for my taste. I like the thrill, I like the unknown… I like it when you keep wondering what happens and how the creatures look or what’s going on. I like the suspense that comes from not knowing.

I learned a lot from this movie, and I hope to put a lot of these techniques to use in one of my own movies. Definitely will be a re-watch for me.

3,5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

