Movie Review – Inside Out

by Pete Docter & Ronaldo Del Carmen

by Pete Docter & Ronaldo Del Carmen

‘After young Riley is uprooted from her Midwest life and moved to San Francisco, her emotions – Joy, Fear, Anger, Disgust and Sadness – conflict on how best to navigate a new city, house, and school.’ (IMDb) (by Pete Docter & Ronaldo Del Carmen, 94 min.)

This movie was one of my favourites. I saw it I think three times in total in the cinema and I just couldn’t get enough of it. The entire concept is so unexpected and new.

With almost every movie Pixar puts out there, you can say it’s a masterpiece. It has so many layers and can be enjoyed by all, small or old. It’s beautifully animated and the idea that we have these small voices in our head that makes us act and react is so enjoyable.

I saw it recently again and with each viewing I see new things and I notice other things. There are so many details that you just can’t get enough out of it by just watching it one time.

Inside Out_02

I especially like the combination of Joy and Sadness. The quirkiness and happiness of Joy, maybe the excess of joy, is a nice contrast to the realness and the slowness of Sadness. Seeing them on their way, with the rest of the group (Anger, Disgust and Fear) trying to balance Rileys life and getting her through this huge change in her life, is really entertaining.

Inside Out_03.jpg

Pixar doesn’t shy away of getting real, showing how fickle memories are and how we forget some things that once were really important to us. Here I especially think of Bing Bong, another quirky character in this gorgeous movie. This was something I didn’t see coming at all and shows how brave and fearless Pixar are to tell a story, not shying away from harder themes.

This is a marvelous story and one I’m eager to share with my little nephews and nieces when they’re old enough.

8/10 stars

 

Leave a Reply

