Trailer Review – Wonder Woman

This June, witness the future of justice

The new trailer for the 2017 Wonder Woman is out and gave us a little sneak peak of what is to come. You can see it right here.

I’m not a huge fan of DC Comics, I’m more of a Marvel girl myself, but I did enjoy The Dark Knight series by Christopher Nolan. I’ve always been a huge fan of his, but here I thought he made these stories really his and left his mark on the superhero genre. So when Ben Affleck came as the new Batman and they made an entire new series with this character, I was hugely sceptical. And honestly I haven’t seen the latest one, Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, and I heard this wasn’t the best story out there. This is the movie though where Wonder Woman is first introduced. I am highly anticipating her Origin story though.

Wonder Woman_01

Wonder Woman has in my mind always been one of the strongest female superheroes out there and one I always looked up to. I’m especially interested in this one, because next to being an Origin story, they’re also making it a war film. And we’re going to get the entire story, from when she first arrived on the island of Themyscira, until she leaves to fight in WWI.

Wonder Woman_02

Judging by this trailer, the production design will be sick. They pulled all the stops out. The images look great. The costumes are fierce and all the Amazons look magnificent. The action scenes are breathtaking. And this is only the trailer. Can you feel how excited I am? Gal Gadot is also remarkable as Wonder Woman and I can’t wait to see what she brings to the character. Costume- and look-wise she’s Wonder Woman incarnated and I can’t wait to see her on the big screen in her own movie, the first superhero movie focused on a female character.

Wonder Woman_03.jpg

One thing I want to touch upon, but only a tiny little bit, is the shaved armpits. Why did this blow up so much? Yes, they didn’t have any ads that showed them beauty and the rules they have to follow, but women have been following specific rules long before advertisements ever became a thing. Women always had to look beautiful and different then men, so my question to you is why couldn’t there be any rules on their island? Why couldn’t there be any rules (not touched upon in this trailer, movie or in the comics) regarding beauty? They braid their hair, they wear specific type of clothes that facilitate their fighting. So why couldn’t there be any rules about this? Would I have preferred that she had some armpit hair? Yes. But does it bother me she doesn’t? Not at all. And I’m sure it won’t take away from my pleasure seeing this movie. I’m just glad there’s finally a female superhero movie.  

This is one of the superhero movies that I’m most looking forward to this year and I can’t wait until it comes out in theatres on June 1st.

Leave a Reply

