Series Review – Marvel’s Iron Fist

Iron_01‘A young man is bestowed with incredible martial arts skills and a mystical force known as the Iron Fist.’ (IMDb) (On Netflix, 13 episodes of ap. 55min.) 

I can’t help but think this reminds me of something I watched before. The first episode alone is a bit the same story as Arrow, the other series I’m talking about. They both start with the same premise: a long lost rich boy comes back from years being far away, finding himself in a whole new world. Both their best friends have taken over their company and need to find a way to restore their world and find their place back in this hard and different world.

Iron_06

The big shift here, away from Arrow, came when Danny was put into a psychological hospital and from here I’ll stop with the ‘spoilers’. I’ll just say that I didn’t like this one. I do understand the choice Netflix made to put this one out there before The Defenders, but I just couldn’t connect to Danny. I just couldn’t.

Iron_05

I didn’t understand him. His character was wise at one moment, then so childish the other. He was the Iron First, but his dad is more important to him then the responsibilities that he took upon himself. I couldn’t get behind half of the decisions he made. Even his fighting didn’t feel real to me. The only moments I found him interesting, was when he was channeling the Iron Fist and where the more supernatural effects kicked in.

Iron_02

There were some characters I did like. Claire was back for a small character arc. After the events in Luke Cage she starts taking lessons to be able to defend herself better and she finds herself taking them in the Dojo of Colleen Wig, the same one where Danny finds himself at the beginning of the story. Colleen Wig, hallelujah, let’s stop here for a moment. She is the kick-ass female character I love. She’s strong, and yet vulnerable. She loves to fight and stands up for herself. She doesn’t let people push her around and even though Danny irritates her (in the beginning), she doesn’t change when she realizes who he is. She stays true to herself.

Iron_04

The relationship that forms between these two is so predictable though. I must say that my love for Colleen Wig diminished the more the episodes dragged on. At one point (I think it was around episode 3 or 4) I just knew what was going to happen. The more I watched the series and the more everything I thought would happen, came to happen, just made me disconnect more and more from this series. At one point I even let the series play in the background while I was doing my spring cleaning. The moment I sat before my computer to continue watch it and not just listen to it, I just didn’t have the feeling I was missing anything. And that is not the way a ‘gripping’ series should be.

Iron_07

To tell you the truth, knowing that he’s a part of The Defenders, doesn’t make me excited for this new series. It’s even the opposite. Even though Daredevil, Jessica Jones and Luke Cage are in it, I feel that he’s going to drag it a bit down. So I hope that they will make him grow a little bit and make his character evolve into a more interesting and relatable person (as relatable as a ‘superhero’ can be), because if this doesn’t happen, this will be the first Marvel Series I will give up on.

Iron_08

5/10 stars. It’s not because I didn’t like it, that it isn’t great TV. The images look great. The music swoops you up in the fight scenes. But I need more to connect to a series and to get through it, I need characters I relate to or look up to. I need to feel with the characters, and this just lacked here for me.  

2 thoughts on “Series Review – Marvel’s Iron Fist

  1. Katie Mills says:

    I watched the first few episodes a few weeks back and haven’t watched any since then. It didn’t exactly draw me in either, but I couldn’t put my finger on why. He does kinda flip flop, though, between being almost cool and then almost boring. I enjoyed your review!

    • annalisa says:

      Thank you, I completely understand as this was the same problem I had with it… Hopefully he doesn’t have that big a part in The Defenders Series.

Leave a Reply

