Movie Rewatch: The Incredibles

TheInc_07

by Brad Bird

A rewatch for me

‘A family of undercover superheroes, while trying to live the quiet suburban life, are forced into action to save the world.’ (IMDb) (by Brad Bird, 115 min.)

I decided to rewatch this movie this weekend because I was feeling nostalgic and I forgot how much fun this film was. I wanted to revisit it, before the second one comes out next year. The action, the characters, the music, the images… these all show how good Pixar is at making a good, heartfelt family film. Because in the end that is what The Incredibles is.

TheInc_04

It’s the story about a family living beside each other, not knowing each other, being stuck in a routine. This is especially hard for them because they are superheroes and they don’t seem to fit in anywhere. It’s a universal story, which is the reason why this movie had so much success and is still, to this day, loved by so many people.  

TheInc_05

I liked everything about this movie and especially now, looking back at it being a bit older, I got so much more out of it. I was just so excited with every action point, every up and down in the story, the characters, the images, the music. It was just so great. They used a lot of little nods to James Bond, to the classics Westerns and to other action movies.

TheInc_01

This is a movie that can be enjoyed by adults and children, at any age actually. Because anyone can get something out of it and enjoy it. The story is easy to follow, and yet when seeing it now, there are so many little things that I now picked up, that I totally zapped on when I was a kid. I think this is really important when making a family film. It has to have a lot of different things for everyone to enjoy. 

TheInc_06

The graphics also make me think of those classic graphic novels. They use simple, yet powerful lines. Not going into too much detail, but staying focused on the most important lines and their functionality. Which is great, because you don’t get lost in all the details of the images (like it sometimes is the case with Inside Out, so many beautiful details), but you get to focus on the story and on the action that is portrayed.

TheInc_03

I really would highly suggest that you see this movie again really soon, if only to prepare yourself for the sequel that has been announced. This should come out in our cinemas in summer 2018 and I can’t wait to see it. First, for the trailer and any sneak peeks they can give us, but especially for the entire film. We have waited so long for a second film and now we’ll finally get one.

8/10 stars. I’ll definitely rewatch it really soon, and then again and again until the second one drops in cinemas.

Leave a Reply

