New Trailer Reviews (#10)

Geostorm

The weather goes crazy

I don’t really know what sort of vibe I have to get from this trailer. The music gives the trailer and the movie a more fun vibe, a bit like Guardians of the Galaxy. But the story in itself is more serious, with a lot of action, destruction and terrible, terrible weather. The premise is interesting and there are a lot of different directions they can take us in. But I don’t really know what direction they want to go to from this trailer. I hope the second trailer will give us a better direction, but for now this is one my watchlist. But I will see this one at home when I don’t have anything else to see.

The Wall

Mesmerizing Thriller

This seems like such a great movie. If you lose the promotional sentences throughout the trailer, you get an intense story about two comrades in arms divided by a wall, trying to survive a sniper that just wants to chat. This seems like such an action-packed movie, with so many thrills and one that will keep my on the edge of my seat. I can’t wait to see where this story takes us and if the last movies of Doug Liman can be any indication at all (Edge of Tomorrow and Mr & Mrs. Smith), this movie will be beautifully shot and the action will be on point. A must-watch for me.

Darkest Hour

Churchill gets another film

This is another movie about Churchill and World War II. What I find interesting about this one is that they seem to not shy away from the darker side of Churchill. Is this the truth? Probably not, and we will never really know how he was during that time or what he was thinking. But what we do know is that he was a difficult man to live and work with. So this movie will be an interesting point of view and I’m especially looking forward to see how they will show this difficult relationship of Churchill with his wife, his secretaries, the outside world, the politicians. A must-watch for me.  

A Wrinkle in Time

The latest from Disney

I do not know the original material on which this movie is based and I do feel that this will put me in a disadvantage. This movie, this story looks big and if you don’t know the backstory, I think you might lose the essence of the story. I hope that Disney learned from Tomorrowland and that they will make this story accessible to anyone, even those you haven’t read the book, not really simplifying it, but making it understandable to everyone. For the rest, I do think the trailer looks good. It promises to be a story full of magic, colour and an overwhelmingly big and well known cast. Oprah Winfrey, Reese Witherspoon, Mindy Kaling, Chris Pine, Zach Galifianakis… are all in this movie. I’m a bit hesitant, but I think I’ll have to see this one in cinemas, just to be able to see all the colours and the action and the magic fully… I’m excited to see the full trailer.

Star Wars: The Last Jedi (Behind The Scenes)

Star Wars VIII has wrapped

I know this isn’t a real trailer and we don’t see a lot about the story, but the few images we get to see, have gotten me so excited for this movie. There will be a lot of action, lightsaber fights, new creatures, new characters and the story will apparently, if we can believe the interview bits, take us into new grounds and give us a new sense of Star Wars. It’s a sequel, but feels like a standalone. I’m so excited and I can’t wait to see the real full trailer to see where they will take us next.

Blade Runner 2049

The Sequel that no-one saw coming

We finally get a glimpse of the story in this full trailer. And this is the trailer I have been waiting for. Blade Runner being one of my number one favourite Sci-Fi film, I hold it near to my heart so I’m anxiously waiting for this film. I already know, I’ll either love it or hate it. And it all depends on the story. Here we see Officer K (Ryan Gosling) looking for Rick (Harisson Ford) because he found something that might change the world and he needs Rick to help him… understand? To testify? The exact reason we don’t know, but I do think the teaser we got from the story is an interesting one. But the images look great as ever and the music was here so well incorporated, it got me excited for the actual soundtrack.

What do you think? Are any of these films on your watchlist? And which ones will you be seeing in cinemas?

Leave a Reply

